

COUNCIL MINUTES

(SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING)

WEDNESDAY 27 JANUARY 2010



PRESENT

The Mayor Councillor Alex Karmel Deputy Mayor Councillor Adronie Alford

Councillors:

Colin Aherne Steve Hamilton Harry Phibbs Alexandra Robson Nicholas Botterill Wesley Harcourt Victoria Brocklebank-Fowler Lisa Homan Minnie Scott Russell Michael Cartwright Lucy Ivimy Greg Smith Andrew Johnson Frances Stainton Stephen Cowan Oliver Craid Donald Johnson Peter Tobias Belinda Donovan Jane Law Mercy Umeh Gavin Donovan Ali de Lisle Rory Vaughan Sarah Gore Mark Loveday **Eugenie White** Lucy Gugen Reg McLaughlin

36. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Paul Bristow, Jean Campbell, Alex Chalk, Gill Dickenson, Caroline Ffiske, Rachel Ford, Stephen Greenhalgh, Robert Iggulden, Lisa Nandy, Ed Owen and Sally Powell.

37. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

38. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION/COMMITTEE REPORTS (IF ANY)

38.1 Changing Governance Arrangements

10.04 pm – the report and recommendations were formally moved by the Deputy Leader, Councillor Nicholas Botterill.

The report and recommendations were put to the vote:

FOR Unanimous
AGAINST 0
ABSTENTIONS 0

The report and recommendation was declared **CARRIED**.

10.04 pm **RESOLVED:**

That the Council

- a) adopts the new Leader and Cabinet executive model with effect from the third day after the local elections in May 2010;
- b) agrees that the Leader may be removed by a resolution of Full Council;
- c) agrees the main constitutional changes detailed in Appendix 1 of the report, and notes that further changes could be made later in the municipal year.

Meeting started: 10.03 pm Meeting ended: 10.04 pm

Mayor	
,	